Travelling with Kids: An Adventure Of Its Own

viber_image_2020-05-13_20-57-43

Hubby and I taking turns carrying the kids

I wonder how my husband and I survived travelling with toddlers, without helpers, and mostly without strollers. I remember how Kamie got sick in Indonesia and we had to spend a few hours in the hospital trying to get through the language barrier. She threw up on the plane, at a restaurant, in church and in a mall. She was 1 year old then. In HongKong, Kamie, who was 3 years old at that time, threw a tantrum in Disneyland because she’s too tired to walk. We didn’t rent a stroller because she won’t ride it anyway, so we had to take turns carrying her. I was wincing and sweaty while walking then would smile for the camera to have that quintessential travel photo. Muscle pains aside, I was still excited while we were in line to watch the Lion King performance, only for her to sleep through the whole show, and as if on cue, woke up as soon as the show was over.

I would never forget having to breast feed the 9-month old Makie behind a huge post in Seoul station because I can’t find a breastfeeding room. I would put out my boob in the middle of Myeong-dong, discreetly of course, to pacify a hungry baby. I had to stay behind the breastfeeding station in Gyeongbokgung Palace while everybody else was on tour, because it was feeding time when we got there. We rented a stroller in Everland, but Makie was an adamant baby who’d rather be carried than ride a stroller. If I wasn’t feeding, I was changing diapers on that trip! When Makie was 2, I remember how terrified I was when we went to Jiufen, when I realized I accidentally left Makie’s formula milk and bottles in our hotel in Taipei. We had to distract her the whole day and feed her whatever snack she wanted to make sure she forgets to ask for “dede”. She was 3 when we visited Tokyo, and as I shush her in the train, she would say “ayoko quiet!” out loud, while I endure the glares, imaginary or otherwise, from fellow passengers. It is during these moments when I would question myself why we choose a bed-wetter as our travel companion. I had to bribe the kids ice cream while we were in Mt. Fuji just for them to walk some more. Even the 9-year old Kamie becomes a handful when we travel.

We were visiting these places for the first time in our thirties while both of the kids are visiting these before they even turned 10. For sure they will forget most of the sights, the food, and the experience, and wouldn’t even care how much we’ve spent on these trips. But in hindsight, there’s no one I’d rather go, to experience different cultures, eat a variety of dishes I can’t cook at home, and see wonderful places with, than these small minions I can bribe with extra screen time and ice cream. As I look at our travel photos, I remember how happy they were, but I knew I was happier. At the end of each trip, I would be extremely exhausted but my heart would be amazingly full, because their smile just makes everything worth it.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thewestlainewanderer
    May 13, 2020 @ 16:01:40

    I love this post. It’s really sweet. Stay safe in lockdown! Greetings from London.

    Reply

Leave a comment